Archives: 2004: Inverted Utopias. Avant-garde Art in Latin America
Inverted Utopias. Avant-garde Art in Latin America
The Museum of Fine Arts (MFAH)
Date:
20 June - 12 September 2004
Lieu:
1001 Bissonnet Street, Houston, Texas, USA

Inverted Utopias est la première exposition à grande échelle qui explore l'émergence et le développement de l'avant-garde artistique en Amérique Latine entre 1920 et 1970. Pendant cette période de cinquante ans, des artistes provenant du Mexique, d'Amérique Centrale, d'Amérique du Sud et des Caraïbes ont entrepris un dialogue approfondi avec les courants modernistes d'Europe et de l'Amérique du Nord.

Cette exposition rassemble plus de 200 œuvres de 67 artistes et groupes d'artistes en provenance d'Argentine, Brésil, Chili, Colombie, Cuba, Mexique, Puerto Rico, l'Uruguay et le Venezuela. L'exposition présente outre des peintures, sculptures et installations de première importance, des exemples de documents imprimés tels que des livres, des affiches et des magazines qui complementent le discours des artistes d'avant-garde et des groupes. Pour chaque cas, les critères de sélection ont été basés sur le fait que ces artistes ont promu la notion d'art à une nouvelle dimension soit utopique ou pratique.

Malgré sa large portée, Inverted Utopias ne se régie pas par des contextes historiques ou géographiques. Ainsi, l'exposition est divisée en six constellations qui révèlent les caractéristiques idéologiques, formels ou thématiques de la production artistique des avantgardes du Nouveau Monde. Chaque constellation représente une catégorie ouverte et flexible qui permet d'interagir dans une même salle un large éventail d'artistes et d'œuvres qui appartiennent à différentes périodes chronologiques ou géographiques. Les six constellations sont : Universal and vernacular; Vibrational and stationary; Geometry and concrete; Play and grief; Touch and gaze; et Cryptic and committed.

© Atelier Cruz-Diez Paris

Jesús Rafael Soto et Carlos Cruz-Diez dans une des salles de l'exposition.

Vue de la Chromosaturation.

Retour au menu Précédent Suivant
Rechercher
Mot clé
RestaurerRechercher

Archives: 2004: Inverted Utopias. Avant-garde Art in Latin America
Inverted Utopias. Avant-garde Art in Latin America
The Museum of Fine Arts (MFAH)
Date:
20 June - 12 September 2004
Venue:
1001 Bissonnet Street, Houston, Texas, USA

Inverted Utopias is the first large-scale exhibition to focus on the emergence and development of avant-garde art in Latin America between 1920 and 1970. In this fifty-year period, artists from Mexico, Central and South America and the Caribbean carried on an extensive dialogue with the prevailing currents of European and North American Modernism.

The exhibition will bring together more than 200 works by 67 artists and artists' groups from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Uruguay, and Venezuela. The show integrates outstanding examples of visual arts production (painting, sculpture, assemblage, mixed media works, and installations) with printed materials (books, manifestoes, reviews) that complemented the avant-garde manifestations of the artists and groups under consideration. In each case, the selection criteria focused on artists who carried the notion of art into a new utopian or practical dimension.

Despite its broad scope, Inverted Utopias is neither a historic nor a geographic survey. Instead, the show is organized in six constellations that highlight some ideological, formal or thematic features of the New World avant-garde artistic production. Each constellation represents an open, flexible, and porous category capable of bringing together in one space a broad diversity of artists and works belonging to different time periods or geographic locales. The six constellations include: Universal and vernacular; Vibrational and stationary; Geometry and concrete; Play and grief; Touch and gaze; and Cryptic and committed.

© Atelier Cruz-Diez Paris

Jesús Rafael Soto and Carlos Cruz-Diez talking in one of the exhibition rooms.

View of the Chromosaturation displayed at the exhibition

Back to index Previous Next
Search
Keyword
ResetSearch