Archives: 2013: Intersections: MoLAA’s Permanent Collection
Intersections: MoLAA’s Permanent Collection
Museum of Latin American Art (MoLAA)
Date:
10 February - 26 May 2013
Lieu:
628 Alamitos Avenue Long Beach California 90802

"Intersections" présente une sélection d'œuvres de la collection du MoLAA qui s'entrelacent tout en générant des dialogues entre le passé et le présent de l'art latinoaméricain. L'exposition s'articule autour d'un exercice de l'interconnectivité qui comprend des œuvres de deux maîtres de la modernité: Joaquin Torres-Garcia et David Alfaro Siqueiros.

Suivant de près le concept de carte inversée (Inverted Map) de Joaquin Torres-Garcia, dans laquelle l'artiste présente une carte inversée des Amériques, "Intersections" se déplace du sud, avec des illustrations de Joaquin Torres-Garcia et l'école du Sud, au nord, au Mexique, avec les muralistes mexicains et l'école méxicaine. Parmi ceux-ci, l'exposition examine les œuvres d'art cinétique, de nouvelles façons d'aborder l'abstraction moderne, l'utilisation de la langue écrite dans l'art et des notions de nationalité et d'identité.

Parmi les artistes participants à l'exposition, nous citons : David Alfaro Siqueiros, José Clemente Orozco, Joaquín Torres-García, Francisco Zúñiga, Jean Charlot, Leopoldo Méndez, Pablo O’Higgins, Oswaldo Guayasamín, Eduardo Kingman, Carlos Cruz-Diez, Alejandro Otero, Leo Matiz, Felipe Ehrenberg, José Bedia, Álvaro Barrios, Alexandre Arrechea, Jorge Macchi, Carlos Motta, Gabriel de la Mora et Milagros de la Torre.

Pour plus d'information visitez : www.molaa.org

Retour au menu Précédent Suivant
Rechercher
Mot clé
RestaurerRechercher

Archives: 2013: Intersections: MoLAA’s Permanent Collection
Intersections: MoLAA’s Permanent Collection
Museum of Latin American Art (MoLAA)
Date:
10 February - 26 May 2013
Venue:
628 Alamitos Avenue Long Beach California 90802

"Intersections" presents a selection of works of art from MOLAA’s Permanent Collection that connect to one another and which generate dialogs between the past and the present of Latin American art. The exhibition is structured around an exercise of inter-connectivity that ties together two works of art by two Moderns masters: Joaquín Torres García and David Alfaro Siqueiros.

Following the concept of the Inverted Map by Joaquín Torres García, in which the artist depicted the map of the Americas up-side down, Intersections moves from the South, with works of art by Joaquín Torres García and the School of the South, to the North, Mexico, with the muralists and the Mexican School. In between, the exhibition examines kinetic works of art, new ways of approaching abstraction today, the usage of written language in art and notions of nationality and identity.

Among the artists included in this exhibition features: David Alfaro Siqueiros, José Clemente Orozco, Joaquín Torres-García, Francisco Zúñiga, Jean Charlot, Leopoldo Méndez, Pablo O’Higgins, Oswaldo Guayasamín, Eduardo Kingman, Carlos Cruz-Diez, Alejandro Otero, Leo Matiz, Felipe Ehrenberg, José Bedia, Álvaro Barrios, Alexandre Arrechea, Jorge Macchi, Carlos Motta, Gabriel de la Mora and Milagros de la Torre.

For more information visit: www.molaa.org

Back to index Previous Next
Search
Keyword
ResetSearch